Davies / Furniss Complete Bro Caron Hat-trick



 Dylan Davies and Dale Furniss through Morian's yard on their way to their third consecutive Bro Caron win


A thrilling battle between some of Welsh road rallying's elite was the entertainment provided by Lampeter and District Motor Club on the Bro Caron rally. The opening round of the WAMC Road Rally Championship brought out several strong crews all capable of going on to win the event. A staggering 19 of the top 30 entries were occupied by Ford Escort Mk2's with Davies/Furniss at Car 1 after a successful defence of their crown in 2010, but a tough night lay ahead with several crews fighting for the overall victory.

     The event started just before midnight with the crews leaving the start venue under the archway of the Black Lion Hotel in Lampeter before making their way over to Parc-Y-Rhos for the opening selective. Quickest out the blocks was Phill Evans and Steve Herbet, setting a blistering pace and taking an early lead that they held throughout the first half to the petrol halt in Aberaeron. Davies/Furniss were a very close second overall, a mere 5 seconds adrift. Third overall was Daniel Lwni and Dorian Evans, just 14 seconds adrift of the overall leader which meant it was all to play for in the second half of the rally for the top 3 crews with a few more within touching distance to capatalise on any slip ups or mistakes.

     However,rally leaders Evans/Herbert arrived at petrol with alternator problems and within a few miles of the second half, the alternator decided enough was enough and their rally came to a very dissapointing end. The remainder of the rally was now a two way battle between Davies/Furniss and Jones/Evans for the overall victory. Arwel "Sbidi" Jones and Edryd Evans had been in contention for the win at petrol but a penalisation of three fails for booking in early at a time control saw them drop way down the order at the finish.

     As the crews arrived at the finish at the Black Lion Hotel in Lampeter, Davies/Furniss secured their thrid consecutive Bro Caron win by just ten seconds ahead of Jones/Evans with Meirion Evans and Stewart Merry completing the podium. Gethin Morgan/Dilwyn John finished fourth overall whilst Richard Jerman/Iwan Jones finished fifth completing an all Escort Mk2 top five.

     Once again, the Bro Caron trophy now heads back to Ciliau Aeron for the seventh consecutive year leaving Dylan just one victory short of his father Gary's record of four consecutive Bro Caron rally wins. Dale also becomes the first navigator to win three consecutive Bro Caron rally wins after their victory on the weekend (19/20th February.)

     LDMC members were out in force on the event supporting the local rally which is ever popular for club members. Alan Gaunt finished 10th O/a in his Peugeot 206 with Owain Evans and Arfon Griffiths 12th O/a and taking first in the semi-experts class. Gareth Hughes and Andrew Gaunt were 17th O/a and 3rd in the experts class closely followed by Stefan Davies and Mark Rodway in 18th. Geraint Wright and Thomas Lloyd also had an award for 2nd in the semi-experts class when they finished 22nd o/a in their Ford Puma whilst Richard Briddon took 3rd in the semi-experts navigating for Rhys Jones. Dafydd Evans also took the Highest Placed Young Navigator award which was kindly donated by The Basic Roamer Company.


Other LDMC members to finish were :


Marc Mayes - 28th O/a

Phillip Jenkins - 30 th O/a

Andy Davies & Greg Evans - 32nd O/a

Daniel Evans & Andrew Ling - 42nd O/a

Justin Jones & Rhodri Morgan - 49th O/a - 1 fail

Dafydd "Daffy Hughes & Dafydd Evans - 52nd O/a - 1 fail

Edryd Evans - 57th O/a - 2 fails

Dai Griffiths & Sophie Griffiths - 60th O/a - 3 fails

Iwan Mayes - 61st O/a - 4 fails

Jason Thomas & Owen Rose - 62nd O/a - 4 fails


 Owain Evans & Arfon Griffiths on their way to 12th O/a and 1st Semi - Experts


 64 of the capacity 90 car entry made it to the finish of the event with the finish venue full of chat and banter of the early morning events over an early morning breakfast. The organiser would like the pass their thanks again to all the competing crews, all the marshals, residents on route and landowners for use of tracks and triangles throughout the event.