Motorsports Association
Avon Tyres/TTC Group MSA British Hillclimb Championship                                         
Rounds 29-30: Prescott, 3-4 September
Scott Moran won both rounds at Prescott to take his sixth MSA British Hill Climb Championship title.
With a 150th career run-off win in round 29 it became clear that Scott Moran would lift the 2016 title in the afternoon shoot-out if he came at least sixth and no more than two places behind nearest rival Trevor Willis.
Willis and Wallace Menzies were unable to better Moran’s pace leaving him to take Best time of the Day and increase his tally to six titles, matching the late, legendary Tony Marsh.
Results Round 29 1 Scott Moran (3.5 Gould-NME GR61X) 36.50s 2 Trevor Willis (3.2 OMS-Powertec 28) 36.60s 3 Wallace Menzies (3.5 Gould-NME GR55) 36.66s
Round 30 1 Scott Moran 36.25s BTD 2 Trevor Willis 36.31s 3 Wallace Menzies 36.95s
Provisional championship standings 1 Scott Moran – 266 points (CHAMPION) 2 Trevor Willis – 239 3 Wallace Menzies – 207
Image: Scott Moran in action at Prescott, courtesy of Eddie Walder.
MAXXIS MSA English Rally Championship                                                                        
Round 5: Eventsigns Woodpecker Stages, 3 September
Cameron Davies maintained his championship lead on the Ludlow based Woodpecker Stages in some atrocious weather conditions.
Gavin Edwards and Carron Tomlinson won the hotly contested E5 class which saw the top three crews separated by just four seconds.
In class E4 it was George Lepley and Arwel Jenkins who turned the tables on championship leaders Cameron Davies and Lee Taylor to win the class by nine seconds.
Class E3 was won by the experienced Barry Jordan and James Gratton Smith in their Avenger closely followed by Kit and Tim Leigh. Meanwhile local father and son crew Dave and Toby Brick made the best use of their local knowledge to dominate class E2. Dominic Hodge and Stefan Arndt took class E1.
Class results E5 Gavin Edwards / Caron Tomlinson (Ford Escort Mk 2) 43m16s E4 George Lepley / Arwel Jenkins (Ford Fiesta ST) 45m51s E3 Barry Jordan / James Gratton-Smith (Avenger) 47m44s E2 Dave & Toby Brick (Nova) 45m25s E1 Dominic Hodge / Stefan Arndt (Nissan Micra) 50m30s
Provisional championship standings 1 Cameron Davies – 96 points 2 Kit Leigh – 92 3 Emily Retallick – 87
Image: Kit and Tim Leigh in action on the Woodpecker Stages, courtesy of RalliPhotosWales.
Pirelli MSA Welsh Rally Championship                                                                              
Round 7: Eventsigns Woodpecker Rally, 3 September
Local crew Shaun Gardener and Ben Innes returned to Ludlow to claim the top podium spot on only their second championship appearance this year, after battling heavy rain for most of the day in the forests of the Welsh Marches.
Luke Francis set the benchmark on the opening test until reports came in that he had rolled heavily on SS2. Steve Simpson now led from Gardner and Karl Simmons as the crews returned to service. Gardener found his pace and overhauled Simpson on the longer Radnor stage, before Simpson retired on the final test.
Despite the roll the North Wales crew of Francis and John H Roberts were declared 2016 championship winners with their nearest contenders finishing down the order.
Results 1 Shaun Gardener/Ben Innes (Mitsubishi Evo V9.2) 40m59s 2 Dylan Davies/Llion Williams (Subaru Impreza) 41m33s 3 Karl Simmons/Mark Glennerster (Impreza WRC) 41m42s
Provisional championship standings 1 Luke Francis – 155 points (CHAMPION) 2 Andrew Jones – 125 3 Wug Utting – 118
Image: Shaun Gardener and Ben Innes in action on the Woodpecker Rally, courtesy of RallySportMedia.
Issued by the Motor Sports Association, Motor Sports House, Riverside Park, Colnbrook, SL3 0HG T: +44 (0)1753 765005 E: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
For all the latest MSA news and results visit the official website