26234158 1529816463732836 1843285860 n

Club chairman Jason Thomas (centre) hands out awards to overall club champion Cadog Davies (left) and chairmans cup to Andy Davies (right)


On the 9th of December the club held its annual awards dinner, which this year took place at the Rugby club in Lampeter, a venue which sees the club hold its monthly meetings. An excellent turkey dinner was suppled by the club before awards were presented to the winners by club chairman Jason Thomas. The overall club champion award this year went to the club’s secretary, Cadog Davies, who clinched the title at the very last minute when auto test results came through and a third overall that Cadog had achieved in an auto test at the beginning of the year was enough to take his points tally to the overall lead, in amongst the excellent results he had from road rallying and tarmac rallying all year. Newcomer to the club Donna Chandler and partner Justin Jones between them scooped the marshals award in a very closely fought battle between them and Rhydian Thomas, it was decided to give the award to Donna and Justin as whilst Rhydian had attended more rallies, the other pair had managed to cover more controls, although credit should be given to Rhydian (and every other marshal who volunteers their time) it was a very difficult decision to make and all will no doubt be in the running for the award next year too. Club chairman Jason Thomas decided to give his choice award to Andy Davies for his achievements throughout what was a very successful year for him, winning yet another Group N title and narrowly missing out on the overall welsh forestry championship, everyone agreed he was a very much deserving of the award. With the food eaten and awards presented entertainment was provided by Carys Jones who sang for the attendants who exchanged stories of their years sport at the bar and in what was a very enjoyable evening. Thanks, must go to all of those who organised the event, Lampeter Rugby club for the venue and the excellent food, Carys Jones for the music, Lasers Are Us for the trophies and all the competitors and members for making the club what it is. Hope to see everyone return in 2018. Many thanks must go to Edryd Evans for the use of his image.